2020 Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu as per NI Act

Under the “Explanation” to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Centrak Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No.20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June 1957 the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares that, in addition to “Sundays” expressely defined as Public Holidays in the said “Explanation”, the following days shall be public Holidays for the year 2020.

Tamilnadu Bank Holidays List

Sr.No Name of the Bank Holiday Day Date
1 New Year’S Day Wednesday 01.01.2020
2 Pongal Wednesday 15.01.2020
3 Thiruvalluvar Day Thursday 16.01.2020
4 Uzhavar Day Friday 17.01.2020
5 RePublic Day Sunday 26.01.2020
6 Telugu New year’s Day Wednesday 25.03.2020
7 * Annual Closing of Accounts For Commercial Banks & Co-Operative Banks Wednesday 01.04.2020
8 Mahaveer Jayanti Monday 06.04.2020
9 Good Friday Friday 10.04.2020
10 Tamil New Year’S Day and Dr. B.R.Ambedkar’s Birthday Tuesday 14.04.2020
11 May Day Friday 01.05.2020
12 Ramzan (Idu’I Fitr) Monday 25.05.2020
13 Bakrid Saturday 01.08.2020
14 Krishna Jayanthi Tuesday 11.08.2020
15 Independence Day Saturday 15.08.2020
16 Vinayakar Chaturthi Saturday 22.08.2020
17 Muharram Sunday 30.08.2020
18 Gandhi Jayanthi Friday 02.10.2020
19 Ayutha Pooja Sunday 25.10.2020
20 Vijaya Dasami Monday 26.10.2020
21 Milda-un-Nabi Friday 30.10.2020
22 Deepavali Saturday 14.11.2020
23 Christmas Friday 25.12.2020

*Applicable only to Commercial Banks And Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu.